Ghana bans travelers from coronavirus-hit countries

The government has reviewed its travel advisory in the wake of the coronavirus scare and has shut its borders to travelers from countries with more than 200 cases of the coronavirus.

Read Also: President has tasked me to purify the country against Coronavirus with my dwarfs – Okomfo Kolege

Ghana has recorded six cases of the COVID-19 pandemic and this travel restriction is aimed at preventing the spread of the virus.

In an update on the state’s efforts at fighting the global infection, Information Minister, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, urged airlines to stop affected travelers from boarding flights, while citizens and resident-permit holders will be required to self-isolate for 14 days on arrival.

 “All travel to Ghana is strongly discouraged,” he said.

Twenty-four countries will be affected by the travel ban.

They include; Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iran, Italy, and Japan.

Read Also: (photos)Dj Switch Acquires Brand New Mercedes Benz As a Birthday Present.

Others are Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Qatar, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

According to Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, guidelines for self-quarantine will be available at the various ports of entry, and enforcement protocols are being deployed in collaboration with state security and health authorities to all points of entry.

Meanwhile, persons determined to be unable to satisfactorily self-quarantine will be quarantined by the state.

Below is the full travel advisory from the government.

Read Also: Top Norwegian official, Turkish citizen involved in Ghana’s coronavirus cases

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *